18ème ICASA | 29 NOV - 4 DÉC 2015 | HARARE | ZIMBABWE
LA CONFERENCE INTERNATIONALE SUR LE SIDA ET LES IST EN AFRIQUE
APPEL A CANDIDATURE POUR ABRITER LA 19ème CONFERENCE INTERNATIONALE SUR LE SIDA ET LES IST EN AFRIQUE (ICASA 2017)
ICASA 2015 Zimbabwe > Opening Ceremony Speakers > Dr. Babatunde Osotimehin

Dr. Babatunde Osotimehin

Secrétaire Général Adjoint des Nations Unies et Directeur Exécutive du Fonds des Nations Unies pour la Population (FNUAP)

babatunde

Dr. Babatunde Osotimehin, un leader mondial en santé publique et en autonomisation des femmes et des jeunes, est particulièrement axé sur la promotion des droits humains, la santé sexuelle et génésique ainsi que la population et le développement. Depuis sa nomination en 2011 comme Directeur Exécutif du FNUAP, il a encouragé les efforts déployés par la communauté internationale pour faire progresser le consensus de la Conférence Internationale sur la Population et le Développement tenue au Caire en 1994.

Pendant son second mandat de Directeur Exécutif à partir de 2015, Dr. Osotimehin a introduit de nouvelles réformes qui ont augmenté l’efficacité du FNUAP et qui ont donné une vision plus solide pour améliorer la vie des femmes, des adolescents et des jeunes du monde entier. Son leadership et son plaidoyer auprès des gouvernements et des partenaires continuent de mettre l’accent sur la jeunesse et la planification familiale volontaire. Il a également orienté les actions humanitaires et les efforts du FNUAP pour éliminer les violences basées sur l’approche-genre et autres pratiques néfastes.

Dr. Osotimehin croit que l’humilité est importante pour faire participer les gens et faciliter le changement. «L’humilité de s’engager avec l’autre personne de l’autre communauté de telle sorte qu’elle sache que vous la respectez» dit-il. La compréhension et la sensibilisation aux réalités culturelles sont essentielles.

Le Dr. Osotimehin a eu son parcours professionnel en médecine. Il a une connaissance approfondie des processus nationaux et mondiaux essentiels pour le travail du FNUAP. Il fut précédemment Ministre de la Santé du Nigéria et Directeur Général de l’Agence Nationale pour le Contrôle du VIH/Sida; agence qui coordonne les activités sur le VIH/Sida au Nigéria.

Le Directeur Exécutif du FNUAP a servi dans plusieurs comités et conseils consultatifs. Il a présidé le Conseil du Forum Economique Mondial sur le Dividende Démographique et est Vice-président du Groupe de Référence de Planification Familiale 2020.

Dr. Osotimehin a fini ses études de médecine à l’Université d’Ibadan, au Nigéria, en 1972 et a obtenu un doctorat en médecine à l’Université de Birmingham, au Royaume-Uni en 1979. Il fut nommé Professeur à l’Université d’Ibadan en 1980 et a dirigé le Département de Pathologie Clinique avant d’être élu Doyen de la Faculté de Médecine en 1990. Il a été président et membre de plusieurs organisations académiques de santé, notamment Président du Comité d’Action Nationale contre le Sida entre 2002 et 2007. Dr. Osotimehin a reçu l’honneur d’officier de l’ordre national du Nigeria en décembre 2005.

Dr. Osotimehin est marié et a cinq enfants.


Leave a Comment or Questions

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

ÉVÉNEMENTS
HEBERGEMENT
OBTENEZ UN VISA
CONVOYEUR OFFICIEL DE ICASA 2015

18th ICASA | 29 NOV - 4 DEC 2015 | HARARE | ZIMBABWE
INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON AIDS AND STIs IN AFRICA
ICASA 2015 Zimbabwe > Opening Ceremony Speakers > Dr. Babatunde Osotimehin
Go Back

Dr. Babatunde Osotimehin

Source:

United Nations Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director of UNFPA, the United Nations Population Fund

babatundeDr. Babatunde Osotimehin is a global leader of public health, women’s empowerment and young people, particularly focused on promoting human rights, including sexual and reproductive health and rights, as well as population and development. Since his appointment as UNFPA Executive Director, effective 2011, he has spearheaded efforts by the international community to advance the milestone consensus of the International Conference on Population and Development, held in Cairo in 1994.

Already into his second term as Executive Director as of 2015, Dr. Osotimehin has introduced new reforms that have increased the effectiveness and efficiency of UNFPA and outlined a more robust vision for improving the lives of women, adolescents and youth around the world. His leadership and advocacy with governments and other key stakeholders will continue to focus on youth and voluntary family planning. He is also steering UNFPA’s humanitarian action and efforts around eliminating gender-based violence and other harmful practices.

Dr. Osotimehin believes that humility is the key to engaging people and facilitating change. “Humility to engage with the other person of the other community in such a way that they know that you respect them,” he says. Cultural sensitivity and understanding are vital.

Dr. Osotimehin’s professional background is in health and medicine. He has extensive knowledge of the global and national frameworks and processes that are critical to UNFPA’s work. He previously served as Nigeria’s Minister of Health and as the Director-General of the National Agency for the Control of HIV and AIDS, which coordinates all HIV/AIDS work in Nigeria.

The UNFPA Executive Director serves in various advisory boards and councils. He chairs the World Economic Forum’s Global Agenda Council on the Demographic Dividend and co-chairs the Family Planning 2020 Reference Group.

Dr. Osotimehin completed his medical studies at the University of Ibadan, Nigeria, in 1972 and received a doctorate in medicine from the University of Birmingham, United Kingdom, in 1979. He was named Professor at the University of Ibadan in 1980 and headed the Department of Clinical Pathology before being elected Provost of the College of Medicine in 1990. He has served as chair and member of several academic and health organizations, including as Chair of the National Action Committee on AIDS, between 2002 and 2007. Dr. Osotimehin received the Nigerian national honour of Officer of the Order of the Niger, in December 2005.

Dr. Osotimehin is married and has five children.


Leave a Comment or Questions

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

ONGOING
ACCOMMODATION
SECURE YOUR VISA
OFFICIAL CARRIER OF ICASA 2015