18th ICASA | 29 NOV - 4 DEC 2015 | HARARE | ZIMBABWE
ICASA 2015 Zimbabwe > News > SAA Cocktail Awards Harare/Zimbabwe 2 December 2015
Go Back

SAA Cocktail Awards Harare/Zimbabwe 2 December 2015


Dr. Angela El-Adas (Ghana AIDS Commissioner), Mr. Luc Armand Bodea (ICASA Director)

Dr. Angela El-Adas (Ghana AIDS Commissioner), Mr. Luc Armand Bodea (ICASA Director)

The Society for Aids in Africa (SAA) organizers of the International Conference on AIDS and STIs held its annual SAA Awards on World AIDS DAY. The Society for AIDS in Africa (SAA) was established in 1990 during the 5th International Conference on AIDS and STIs in Africa (ICASA) in Kinshasa facilitated by WHO, to be the custodian of the International Conference on AIDS and STIs in Africa (ICASA).

The Awards which took place at a local hotel in the capital city of Zimbabwe, Harare sought to recognize and reward the best Abstracts in all the five tracks and to give SAA Meritorious awards to distinguished individuals.

Recipients of the prestigious meritorious awards included the Zimbabwean Minister of Health, Dr. David Parirenyatwa, ICASA immediate past President Professor Robert Soudre, UNAIDS Executive Director Michel Sidibe and SAA CEO Luc Bodea

The best award in Track A which was on Basic Science went to Dr. Almoustapha I. MAIGA who is the director of Molecular and Epidemiology of HIV drug resistance laboratory at the University of Sciences, Techniques and Technologies of Bamako. The track encompassed all aspects of fundamental HIV biology and the host response to HIV. Areas of focus will include HIV infection and replication, transmission, genetics, evolution, structure and function, pathogenesis, adaptive and innate immune responses to HIV, genetic susceptibility to HIV, interaction of micronutrients, co-infection and progress in animal models.

In track B which was on Clinical Science, Treatment and Care, the award was given to Dr Tdesse T Meknonen who is a qualified doctor of medicine and a public health specialist. This track analyzed clinical features of opportunistic infections, malignancies, severe bacterial diseases, co-morbidities in people living with HIV. Not to be outdone was Dr Tjudeen OYEWALE who won the best Abstract Award in Track C. Track C was titled “Epidemiology and prevention science” and it focused on HIV/AIDS prevention research and issues related to the design, implementation and evaluation of prevention programs to reach the MDG and the Post MDG.

Mr Yao Hyacinth received the best abstract award in Track D; he is a social worker by training specializing in psychosocial support for people living with HIV. The track aimed to highlight new knowledge and address gaps in the translation of behavioral and social science evidence into practice, and to contribute to the building of theory and understanding in HIV-related social science was titled “Social Science, Human Rights and Political Science”

Track E was titled “Health systems, Economics and implementation science” and it aimed to provide new insights into the status of the health systems and its capacity and challenges to expanding treatment and prevention in resource-limited settings. The best abstract award in this track went to Dr Tichaona Nyamundaya a Zimbabwean medical practitioner who is an experienced public health professional with over ten years experience implementing HIV prevention treatment projects.

The surprise meritorious award went to Condomize for their efforts in sprucing up and making the conference a colorful one.

Leave a Comment or Questions

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.